July 18, 2016 His Excellency Rafael Correa Delgado President of

July 18, 2016
His Excellency Rafael Correa Delgado
President of Ecuador
cc. René Ramírez, Secretary of SENESCYT
cc. Gabriela Ribadeneira, President of the National Assembly
cc. Guillaume Long, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Mr. President:
The Executive Council of the Latin American Studies Association write to express our
deep concern over the economic viability of FLACSO-Ecuador. FLACSO reports to not
have received the resources allocated to them by Ecuadorian law that allow them to fulfill
its academic endeavors. This situation threatens to paralyze their activities of research,
teaching and extension and to cause deep disruption in the lives of their students,
professors, researchers, and administrators. In addition, an education law reform that will
be sent to the Education Commission of the National Assembly reportedly threatens the
international status and autonomy of this prestigious post-graduate center.
The professors and graduate students are active and respected members of our scholarly
association—the largest in the world dedicated to the study of Latin America, with over
12,000 members. The academic excellence and international status of the research,
teaching and policy produced within this institution is well known to us.
We respectfully request that the Ecuadorian government transfer the funds necessary for
the normal operation of this academic center and reconsider any legal reforms that would
threaten the international status and autonomy of FLACSO-Ecuador.
Joanne Rappaport, Georgetown University, LASA President
Gil Joseph, Yale University, LASA Immediate Past President
Aldo, Panfichi, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Incoming President
Timothy Power, Immediate Past Treasurer and Ex-Officio Council Member
Robin Derby, University of California, Los Angeles, Executive Council Member
Daniela Spenser, CIESAS, Mexico City, Executive Council Member
Jo-Marie Burt, George Mason University, Executive Council Member
Evelina Dagnino, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Executive Council Member
Claudia Ferman, University of Richmond, Executive Council Member
Maria Helena Machado, Universidade de São Paulo, Executive Council Member
Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, University of Pittsburgh, LARR, Editor-in-Chief
Juliet Hooker, University of Texas, Austin, LASA2017 Program Co-Chair
Catalina Romero, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Ex-Officio Council Member